Wednesday, November 1, 2017

Sliding Door Company Complaints

The Sliding Door Company is a company in complete denial of the harm they do to people who simply want to purchase a product from them.  

We see that they will try to discredit any customer who is dissatisfied with the product or service they received from the company.  We can see that they must always insist they are right and the customer must be wrong.  They often claim success even when they put the customer through HELL!

We have two people who primarily respond to Yelp reviews.  One is Sheryl Hai Ami who responds under the psuedonym "Alex C" and is the wife of CEO, Doron Polus.  The other is Betty Jacobs, who is related to East Coast Sliding Door Company president, Ron Jacobs.

Let's have a look at some of The Sliding Door Company's complaints from our complaint page, and let's see how The Sliding Door Company's customer service representatives responded.  

J P.   Marina del Rey, CA   3/29/2013
I am surprised by these high ratings.  The doors arrived late (from China) and on top of that were the wrong size.  Customer service treated us as if it were our fault and initially did not want to compensate us for the inconvenience.  In the end, we canceled our order.
We're all surprised by the high ratings.

So, this is a complaint that is typical of the type of service people should expect of The Sliding Door Company.  They promise 12 weeks shipping time, so these apparently took even longer.  So, after several months, the door came in the wrong size, gee... where have we heard that before?  Since this is an older complaint, Sheryl Hai-Ami's name is still on this one (on my blog at least).  I haven't looked to see if they replaced it with "Alex C" yet.
Comment from Sheryl H. of The Sliding Door Company Business Manager 4/2/2013  
We are familiar with this, and did everything we could to resolve the complaint fairly.  We were in contact throughout the process with the contractor and the client.  We felt terrible that we couldn't come to an agreement, so we refunded the customer in full.  We were not trying to place blame for the mistake in manufacturing - this is why we were willing to offer a full refund.  We care very much for our customers' satisfaction - they are the reason we are here.  
I'm confused by this sentence "We were not trying to place the blame for the mistake in manufacturing - this is why we were willing to offer a full refund."  What are they talking about?  Are they suggesting they would rather give a refund than take responsibility for the mistake? 

Let's go to the next complaint response:

Oh dear, we've already discussed this complaint and what appears to be racism at The Sliding Door Company.  OK, on to the next...

You've got the Wrong Sliding Door Company?

This is one of my favorites.  Betty Jacobs claims the reviewer is confused about the company he is reviewing.

  • Daniel R.  Marina del Rey, CA  7/13/2012
We ordered 5 doors for a condo renovation. One arrived broken and we managed to get the Sliding Door Co to replace it. When the floor plan changed we asked to exchange 2 doors for a different size and the company said 'NO.' The doors were in the package and had not yet been opened. That was disappointing. We discovered another door we received was also broken with the carton undamaged. The company said it was too late to notify them and would not replace the door.  The frosted side of the glass is difficult (impossible) to clean and shows through on the smooth side.
Perhaps the most troubling matter was the specs. The installation instructions had the contractor install the pocket door in a way that altered the reveal of the door making it uneven on the top and one side. The contractor had to rip out the framing and start over after the furniture arrive. When we pointed this out to the company they agreed it was questionable but said that's the way they wrote it. It made no sense.
Overall, Sliding Door was difficult to deal with after the sale. In the end we used only 2 doors and we would not order from them again. I reluctantly gave one star rating because there is nothing lower.
Comment from Betty J. of The Sliding Door Company  Business Owner 5/19/2014  
We are sorry you didn't have a pleasant experience and respect your decision of posting your experience. However, The Sliding Door Company in California is a completely different company. We do not share the same management nor do we share the same employees.
Unfortunately, they share the SAME PRODUCTS and the same product literature.  Clearly (or not so clearly) the leaking seals are the very same leaking seals we have been discussing here.  
We would greatly appreciate if you would remove this posting and share your experience on their respective Yelp page as we have undergone personnel changes and implemented new policies to ensure an excellent customer service experience for each of our clients.Thank you, 
LOL. The Sliding Door Company East wants to separate itself from The Sliding Door Company West.  Isn't that interesting?

But these are older reviews.  Has their attitude improved in recent years?  Let's have a look...

Below is a more recent review.  First, let's have a look to see if anything has changed in the past few years.  For example, the review above is from 2012 and describes faulty installation instructions for a pocket door.  The review below describes faulty installation instructions for a pocket door.

Serge D.San Diego, CA5/20/2017We needed a custom size pocket sliding door because we have high ceiling and liked the quality and design of their doors. Good quality but very expensive and absolutely NO customer service. Their office on 4th Av is randomly closed, so call before you go. Cost was about $900  ( special offer ) to start + $500 for delivery and installation which I did not want because I'm a contractor. Then we changed the glass style and they said it was an extra $300. I installed following exactly their instructions handbook and had issues with the bottom guide and latching system. Called several times their L.A to get support, they never responded to voice mail ( don't bother leaving a message). Talked to 3 different people who said that a specialist would call me back, they never did. Finally after an email, sending a video showing the issues, they got back to me after I bugged them again and wanted to charge an upfront $250 for an assessment of their problem!!  No way!I ended up spending 2 hours to modify their system so it would work!!Stay away unless you're ok to spend big bucks and get frustrated!!! 
The reviewer above is a contractor.  Let's see how Sheryl Hai-Ami (Alex C) responds, shall we?

Comment from Alex C. of The Sliding Door CompanyBusiness Customer Service  6/5/2017  
Dear Serge,We are truly sorry you feel that you had an unpleasant experience with us.After carefully looking into the chain of events, we see that due to the unusual difficulty you had installing our system, our team did everything in their power to try and clarify the situation.
"We are truly sorry you feel you had an unpleasant experience with us."
Are they suggesting this unpleasant experience was subjective?  Next, they go on to suggest this contractor had "unusual difficulty" installing their system.  Apparently, the contractor in the previous review also had unusual difficulty installing their system.  Maybe the problem is in their system and in the installation instructions they are providing to contractors?  Just a thought to consider before defaming a contractor by suggesting he can't follow instructions.
During the last conversation you had with our Customer Service Manager, we were happy to hear that the system was installed correctly and completely functioning to your satisfaction.
Yes, the customer was SO satisfied, he decided to write a blistering Yelp review.  Does Sheryl Hai-Ami really believe this customer was satisfied?
However, we at The Sliding Door Company take pride in our quality interior glass door solutions as well as our exceptional customer care.
OK, well, at some point, you shouldn't...
We have tried to contact you recently in order to have a chance to hopefully improve your overall experience with us.  We do hope you will consider our company's services again in the future.  Thank you, TSDC

 Translation "We'd like you to remove your negative Yelp review."

Let's move on to the next one which, coincidentally, also discusses the "installation instructions" which we know from the previous two reviewers, are basically useless.

Donna D.  Goleta, CA  2/13/2015

this company has been our worst nightmare .  It took over 10 weeks to have the doors arrive in the US.  We had to go pick them up at a warehouse that was very difficult to find.  They would not deliver or install.  WE received no installation instructions. until we asked for them.   . We had to cut pieces to fit the doors. 
WE had to ask for the end pieces twice and they sent the wrong ones twice and even asked us for payment and shipping charges.  Initially they were very hard to contact either by phone or even by email.  I suggest you  find a different company  because they are extremely unreliable. The doors look great but they are still not complete.  after months of communication.  They are no professional
Comment from Sheryl H. of The Sliding Door Company 
Business Manager 2/18/2015  
I am very sorry to learn about Donna's review. We at The Sliding Door Company care very much about our customers and their satisfaction from our products as well as the service. We are working very hard to accomplish it and I am happy to say that for the most part we are very successful.  
We are "working very hard" to "care very much about our customers" - Yay!

Let's start by calling this particular customer a liar!
There are always two sides to every story. In this case all the complaints are related to the installation which was done by Donna's contractor.
Hold on... I sense Sheryl is about to blame three contractor's in a row - it's a turkey shoot! 
The installation instructions are available and very easy to follow.
Except that whey these contractors followed the instructions, NOTHING FIT!  Some had to rip out walls in order to install the product.  Could it be that maybe Sheryl doesn't know what she's talking about?
We always provide the tracks longer to be cut to size on site. The dividers must be glued to the glass and the double side tape is provided for alignment only as stated in the installation instructions.
Well, we know that's not true.  We even documented a video at one point that shows tape is used to secure the divider strips.  
We are very happy that Donna loves the doors and her suggestion to find another company is an overstatement.
LOL... That "Donna loves the doors" is all Sheryl took from this negative review tells a LOT about the company.

No comments: